Close this search box.


Call for 2019 Marketing Hall of Fame Nominations

For Immediate Release

American Marketing Association New York
Opens Nominations for 2019 Marketing Hall of Fame®



Media Contact:
Jack Mello, PR for Marketing Hall of Fame

[email protected]


NEW YORK, September 25, 2018 — The American Marketing Association New York today announced the open call for nominations for 2019 Marketing Hall of Fame® inductees, who will be honored at an induction ceremony on May 16, 2019, at R/GA in New York.


The nominations, which are free and open to the public, can be submitted by visiting http://www.marketinghalloffame.org/nominate/, with a deadline of October 16, 2018.  Both members and non-members of the AMA New York can submit nominations.


The Marketing Hall of Fame (www.marketinghalloffame.org) was established to “inspire and celebrate brilliance in marketing” across all fields and industries, recognizing individuals who are making outstanding contributions to the field and inspiring a new generation of marketers.


The prestigious annual honor is open to any current marketing practitioner from the corporate, agency, research, or academic worlds with a minimum of 10 years’ experience, who is responsible for marketing innovations that have had dramatic impact on business results, raised marketing’s profile in business overall or moved the profession forward by creating new tools and approaches.


Last year’s inductees were creative legend Lee Clow, chairman, TBWA\Media Arts Lab and director of Media Arts, TBWA\Worldwide; Seth Godin, best-selling business author and speaker; and Esther Lee, executive vice president, global chief marketing officer, MetLife, Inc.


Previous inductees include leaders who have transformed the role of marketing, including David Aaker, vice chairman, Prophet and professor emeritus, Berkeley-Haas School of Business; Facebook CMO Gary Briggs; Patagonia founder Yvon Chouinard; GE vice chair Beth Comstock; Nike Brands president Trevor Edwards; R/GA founder Bob Greenberg; former American Express CMO John Hayes; IBM SVP Jon Iwata; Philip Kotler, author and distinguished professor of International Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University;  Ogilvy chairman emeritus Shelly Lazarus; marketing strategist/author Al Ries; former P&G CMO Jim Stengel; Subway CMO and former Coca-Cola Company and Allstate CMO Joseph Tripodi; and Jerry Wind, PhD, professor of Marketing, The Wharton School.


“The Marketing Hall of Fame has become a brand unto itself that stands for excellence and career achievement in our field,” said Robert Kahn, Marketing Hall of Fame co-chair, AMA New York past president and SVP, Global Business Development, Elateral.  “In addition to recognizing these well-deserving industry visionaries each year, the program also engages the broader marketing community in the year-long process of nominations and judging.”


“The Marketing Hall of Fame is the only honor that recognizes those who make outstanding contributions to marketing across all disciplines and specialties, whether they come from a brand, agency, academia or other background,” said Joanna Seddon, Global Consulting Principal, president, Global Brand Consulting at Ogilvy and Marketing Hall of Fame co-chair.  “We encourage everyone to submit nominations for some of the great marketers whom they believe are worthy of inclusion in our next group of inductees.”


All nominations are evaluated by the Marketing Hall of Fame Committee against four criteria:

  • marketing that drives extraordinary business results
  • raising marketing’s profile
  • marketing innovation and creativity
  • and inspiring and developing other marketers

A short-list of the 50 most highly qualified nominees is then voted on by the Marketing Hall of Fame Academy, an exclusive, invitation-only body of 250 senior marketers, agency executives, researchers and academics hand-selected by the committee and AMA New York Board of Directors, who cast ballots to determine the 12 finalists.  A final panel of judges, made up of past inductees and top executives from the leading marketing associations and organizations, then selects the 2019 inductees.


Past sponsors of the Marketing Hall of Fame include P&G, Facebook, AOL, Deloitte, PwC, American Express, IBM, GE, Blackstone Group, R/GA, Twitter, The Wall Street Journal, J. Walter Thompson, BBDO, Ogilvy, McCann Worldgroup, Wieden+Kennedy, SY Partners, OMD | the grid, media partner Advertising Age, Columbia Business School, GreenBook, Insight Innovation Exchange, Thornberg & Forester, Verse Group LLC, and others.


For information about sponsorship opportunities, please contact AMA New York board member Lee Hornick, Marketing Hall of Fame sponsorship director, at [email protected].


The mission of the AMA New York (https://amanewyork.wpengine.com) is to inspire, support and celebrate brilliance in marketing.  Founded in 1931, the AMA New York is the principal community for marketing professionals across all industries and disciplines in the New York area.  Offering programs, monthly events, and interaction with the chapter through volunteer activities, we provide marketers with an opportunity to increase their knowledge and reach in the marketing community.


# # #